THANK YOU SACHIN

I don’t know where to start coz since the day I heard the announcement of Sachin retiring I have been numb, revisiting every moment of his career, moments of joy, pain, moments making me want to believe.

Image

Every time he went to bat, my heart skipped a beat. Every innings he played I prayed that he doesn’t get out. He keeps re-writing history books keeps inspiring a generation of cricketers which not only includes the next gen but also his contemporaries & former players. He gives every Indian pride when the world talks of India’s Sachin, OUR Sachin. Yes for the 24 years he’s played we a nation of 1 billion have never felt he’s a star celeb, we have always felt he’s one of us, he is us…. We take credit for his every achievement coz he makes us feels they are ours. We are saddened by his failures coz we feel we failed.

Recently watched an Amitabh Bachchan interview on Sachin & he said “Sachin embodies our Identity” & this says what Sachin means to us. It’s not his batsmanship, his records it’s just him.

Sachin TendulkarAll these years that we have watched him play we have heard so many people say “he’s self centred, only looks at his records, he’s aloof doesn’t think of his team” I am sorry I am not hear to defend him but all the players who have played with or against him have been saying a completely different description of Sachin than what many of us have been saying. Sachin= “Humble, professional, always hungry to perform”. & that’s him.  He just keeps performing without saying a word silencing criticism. For me this is one thing I have learnt from Dravid & Him that you can only do hard work leave the result to destiny.

Today when I watch the shows on Sachin, I see a side which we knew always existed but was hidden. His support system his family. We have got to know all the sacrifices they have made to make him who he is & you see him reciprocate in any interview of his you see him he always pensions his family esp his brother Ajit his coach Ramakant sir & this is a man who has all the money in the world, all the success, all the batting records & still his feet are on the ground he’s still attached to his roots.

 

He will retire from cricket on 18th but Sachin you have taught me for life & I can never forget every lesson I have learnt from you, you have made me a better person & if I can even be 20% of the person you are I will say I led a great life

Image

THANK YOU SACHIN

Images via-Google

http://wp.me/p1BCYl-2m – “Sachin A Mortal, Yet a GOD”

One thought on “THANK YOU SACHIN

Leave a comment